Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Tom Peters

Tom Peters
Tom Peters
  • 0
    Following
  • 5
    Followers
  • 9
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Nov. 28, 2014
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Did S take advantage of a failed alert?
"If quizzed (which won't always happen) then the response is 'I am still trying to remember the system, let me leave the table and think while partner tells you the answer'." There are several ways leaving the table can go very wrong. The Director should be there to supervise ...
Did S take advantage of a failed alert?
In the ACBL you are required to alert if you have an alertable partnership agreement. This is true regardless of whether you remember your agreement. No one said bridge is easy. If you truly have no partnership agreement you do not need to alert.
F Stewart Critique of Gambling 3N
The new ACBL Open Chart is much more liberal about 3NT openings than the current GCC. For example 3NT to show a strong but not necessarily solid major preempt will become legal. I'm not willing to give up both 4 and 4 to play Namyats but if ...
Steve Myerson's bidding problem: AQ972 AJT974 --- K4
I would have used Stayman and Smolen but rebid 4 as a retransfer.
Did S take advantage of a failed alert?
Weak jump shifts not in competition are alertable in the ACBL.
Did S take advantage of a failed alert?
Law 20F4 (2017): "(a) If a player realizes during the auction that his own explanation was erroneous or incomplete, he must summon the Director before the end of the Clarification Period and correct the misexplanation. He may elect to call the Director sooner, but he is under no obligation to ...
Did S take advantage of a failed alert?
STaC games are typically stronger than regular club games. At least the ones I frequent in D6. That's a significant attraction in its own right. STaCs also compute overall awards across multiple participating clubs. MPs aside, it feels nice to win a district-wide event.
Did S take advantage of a failed alert?
"Should the director rule the contract as 3nt?" There is a four-part test for score adjustment due to UI. It really speeds up the ruling if you can identify the weakest point and rule on that. "BTW after 4♥ N/S went off the rails and ended up in a ...
Did S take advantage of a failed alert?
Law 16B1(b) "A logical alternative is an action that a significant proportion of the class of players in question, using the methods of the partnership, would seriously consider, and some might select." If no one would actually select the action it is not an LA. I think we agree ...
Club UI problem
If partner makes a skip bid, RHO acts immediately, and I pass after my usual 2-3 seconds, would that be a BIT on my part? I wouldn't be in favor of that. Why are the consequences of my opponent's irregularity being visited on me? I would be in ...
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top